Change the world

Pharmacy


Head of Department
Prof Shirley-Anne Boschmans
Associate Professor Shirley-Anne Boschmans
Position: Head of Department: Pharmacy
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-55
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042128
Fax: 27 41 504-2744
Email: shirley-anne.boschmans@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Dip. Pharm., M.Sc., PhD.
Expertise: Pharmacy Education, Clinical pharmacy, Diabetic management

Academic Staff
Prof Ilse Truter
Prof Ilse Truter
Position: Professor in Pharmacy & Leader of DURU
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 120258
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042131
Fax: 27 41 5041091
Email: ilse.truter@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom, BCom(Hons), MCom, DCom, BPharm, MSc, PhD
Expertise: Pharmacy Practice, Clinical Pharmacy, Management, Drug Utilization Research
Responsibilities: Research and Clinical Pharmacy

Prof Gareth Kilian
Prof Gareth Kilian
Position: Associate Professor: Pharmaceutics
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-53
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504-2920
Fax: 27 41 504-2744
Email: gareth.kilian@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Pharm. M.Sc. (UPE) Ph.D. (NMMU)
Expertise: Novel drug delivery systems, liposome drug delivery, Statistical formulation optimisation.

Dr Sue Burton
Dr Sue Burton
Position: Senior Lecturer: Pharmacy Practice
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-54
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504-4212
Fax: 27 41 504-2744
Email: susan.burton@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Dip. Pharm. M.Sc. (Pharmacology), PhD (General Health Sciences)
Expertise: Professional identity, pharmacy practice, pharmacoeconomics, qualitative practice research
Responsibilities: Stream Co-ordinator: Pharmacy, People and Systems

Mrs Teri-Lynne Fogarty
Mrs Teri-Lynne Fogarty
Position: Lecturer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 120352
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4109
Fax: 27 41 504 2744
Email: Teri-Lynne.Fogarty@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BPharm MPharm (UPE)
Expertise: Pharmacy legislation
Responsibilities: Since 2008 she has been a lecturer at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) where she is still employed. In addition to lecturing responsibilities, she co-ordinates the pharmacy mid-level worker programmes at NMMU. Teri-Lynne co-authored The Southern African Pharmacy Technician Manual which was published in July 2016.

Ms Jane McCartney
Ms Jane McCartney
Position: Lecturer: Pharmacology
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 120279
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042735
Fax: 27 41 504-2744
Email: jane.mccartney@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
Expertise: Clinical pharmacy, Role of the pharmacist in chronic disease management

jbarry
Mrs Janet Barry
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 120255
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 4872
Fax: +27 (0)41 5042744
Email: janet.barry@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BPharm
Expertise: Certificate Programme Lecturing in Pharmacy Practice and Practical Pharmaceutics
Responsibilities: Lecturer / Curriculum development

Mrs Candyce  Clark
Mrs Candyce Clark
Position: Lecturer: Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-77
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 4565
Email: Candyce.Clark@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: M.Sc (Chemistry)

Nisaacs
Miss Nasreen Isaacs
Position: Lecturer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-59A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2737
Email: Nasreen.Isaacs@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Pharm MSc (NMMU)

Yekadernani
Mr Yakub Kadernani
Position: Lecturer: Pharmaceutics
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-78
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5042651
Email: yekadernani@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BPharm (NMMU), M.Sc. (UWC)

Monique
Miss Monique Klitsie
Position: Contract Lecturer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-81
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5044910
Email: monique.klitsie@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BPharm
Expertise: Pharmacist
Responsibilities: ZPS Lecturer

Ms Lia Kritiotis
Ms Lia Kritiotis
Position: Lecturer: Pharmacology
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-77
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4264
Fax: 27 41 504 2744
Email: Lia.Kritiotis@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BPharm (NMMU) MSc (NMMU)

Mrs Nomachina Kubashe
Mrs Nomachina Kubashe
Position: Lecturer: Pharmacology & Pharmacy Practice
Phone: 27 41 504 2860
Fax: 27 41 504 2744
Email: Nomachina.Kubashe@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Pharm. (UPE) M.Pharm (NMMU)

Celesten
Ms Celeste Naude
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-59B
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5042717
Email: celeste.naude@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Pharm

Doina Nicoleta Naude
Mrs DOINA NAUDE
Position: LECTURER
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-51
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0415044778
Email: doina.naude@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Pharm
Expertise: Clinical Pharmacy
Responsibilities: PT Students

Hannah Pretorius
Mrs Hannah Pretorius
Position: Academic assistant
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-50
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5044711
Email: hannah.pretorius@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Pharm
Responsibilities: Student support officer & Hospital assistant co-ordinator

Gregoryp
Mr Gregory Purcell
Position: Contract lecturer - Clinical Pharmacy
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-81
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0415044910
Email: gregory.purcell@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Pharm NMMU; M.Pharm NMMU
Expertise: Pharmacology, psychopharmacology, pharmacovigilance
Responsibilities: Lecturing, setting of test/exam questions, marking of tests/exams, setting and marking of assignments; assistance with fourth year hospital programme

Rajendrar
Mr Rajendra Ranchod
Position: Lecturer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-02-18
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0795075194
Email: Rajendra.Ranchod@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Pharm
Expertise: Retail Pharmacist for 33 Years and previously served on various Pharmacy Organisations including ICPA PSSA USAP & PCI
Responsibilities: Lecturer

Mrs Jayne Rishworth
Mrs Jayne Rishworth
Position: Clinical Training Administrator
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-50
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4711
Email: jayne.rishworth@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BPharm
Expertise: Hospital Program
Responsibilities: Hospital Program Onsite Co-Ordinator

Technical and Administrative Staff
Siyamtanda Skweyiya
Mrs Siyamtanda Skweyiya
Position: Pharmacology Technician
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 0280
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2812
Fax: 041 504 1009
Email: siyamtanda.skweyiya@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Post Graduate Diploma(Honours) in Business Administation, N.D Information Technology(Technical Applications)

jtaylor
Mrs Jacqueline Taylor
Position: Lab Technician
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 253
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0415044875
Fax: 0415042744
Email: jacqui.taylor@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Post Basic Pharmacist Assistant

Phumezat
Mrs Phumeza Tsewu
Position: Laboratory technician
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 120253
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2640
Email: phumeza.tsewu@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Bcur degree
Responsibilities: Manage clinical skills laboratory

Mrs Arista van Jaarsveld
Mrs Arista van Jaarsveld
Position: Laboratory Technician: Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Phone: 27 41 504-2720
Fax: 27 41 504-2744
Email: arista.vajaarsveld@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Sc.

Mrs Jean van Jaarsveld
Mrs Jean van Jaarsveld
Position: Laboratory Technician: Pharmaceutics
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-61D
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2909
Fax: 27 41 504 2744
Email: Jean.vanJaarsveld@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Sc. (Hons) (UPE), HDE (Science & Maths) (UPE)

Karenj
Mrs Karen Jones
Position: Pharmacy Administration Support
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 12-03-56
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 4118
Email: karen.jones@nmmu.ac.za

M Law
Mrs Melissa Law
Position: Administrative Assistance
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 12-03-52
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 5044109
Email: melissa.law@nmmu.ac.za

Ayesha
Miss Ayesha Peer
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 0280
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5044610
Email: Ayesha.Peer@nmmu.ac.za

René
Mrs René Pittaway
Position: Special Projects
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 12-02-54
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-504 4876
Email: rene.pittaway@nmmu.ac.za
Responsibilities: Administration

Rosalind Sugden
Mrs Rosalind Sugden
Position: Administration
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 0279
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 4069
Email: Rosalind.Sugden@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA/ Post Basic Pharmacist assistant
Responsibilities: Administration

Susanvs
Mrs Susan van Staden
Position: Secretary
Department: Pharmacy
Room: 12-03-55
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5042128
Fax: 041-5042744
Email: Susan.VanStaden@nmmu.ac.za
Responsibilities: Secreterial

Service Worker
Ms Elizabeth Boltina
Ms Elizabeth Boltina
Position: Laboratory Assistant: Pharmacy Practice
Phone: 27 41 504-2128
Fax: 27 41 504-2744

Ms Cynthia Laxa
Ms Cynthia Laxa
Position: Laboratory Assistant: Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Phone: 27 41 504-2128
Fax: 27 41 504-2744